Workers deserve to be paid fairly. When they work overtime, they are entitled to be paid more. The Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) was established in 1938, near the end of the Great Depression, to protect workers from child labor, an extended workweek, and poor wages. Since then, the FLSA has expanded and states have developed their own laws which sometimes offer more protections than the FLSA.
Federal Fair Labor Standards Act
The federal law guarantees workers basic wage standards which apply to “nonexempt” workers. Congress periodically changes the minimum hourly wage due to nonexempt workers under the FLSA. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor to see today’s required minimum wage and for more detailed information. Simply, the law requires a minimum wage for all hours worked and overtime pay for all hours worked over 40 hours in a workweek. Read more »
Wage and Hour in D.C., Maryland and Virginia
In 2018, Washington, D.C. had the highest minimum wage rate in the U.S., at an hourly rate of $13.25. Like D.C., Maryland’s minimum wage was also higher than the federal law, requiring employers to pay $10.10 per hour. Virginia, however, has not chosen to apply a higher standard.
D.C. also created the Wage Theft Prevention Act. The DC law allows enhanced fines for employers who commit wage-hour violations, gives strong protections for workers who hold employers accountable for unpaid wages, establishes a formal hearing process, and makes it easier for workers to collect awards for unpaid wages.
DC also requires that employers give their employees paid sick leave and accrued sick leave under the D.C’s Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act (ASSLA). Employees are entitled to accrue a minimum number of sick leave hours per year, dependent on the size of the employer, and unused sick leave carries over from year-to-year. Employees are allowed to use sick leave after working at a new employer for 90-days and on short notice if the leave was unforeseeable.